Events - Page 4

Release of Research Report on ‘Contribution of Judicial Mechanism in Facilitating Access to Justice to Victim’ and Felicitation of the First Batch of Mock Trial and Advocacy Competition (2016-17): March 10, 2018


Research and Publication Cell has organised the release of the Research Report on ‘Contribution of Judicial Mechanism in Facilitating Access to Justice to Victim’ on March 10, 2018 at the hands of Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh, Judge, High Court of Allahabad. The event will also witness Valedictory function of First Intra-College Mock Trial Advocacy Competition, 2016-17.

About the Research Project

The Research Project, titled “Evaluating the Objective & the Objectivity of Capital Punishment in Criminal Justice System” was initiated in January, 2016 with the objective to look into issue of ‘award of compensation to victim of an offence triable by court of sessions’.

Research Team included the following members: Dr. Madhuker Sharma, Project Coordinator, Assistant Professor and Deputy Director, Mr. Pranav Tiwari, Ms. Shruti, Third Year Learners & Ms. Jayanti Mishra, Fourth Year Learner, Symbiosis Law School, NOIDA.

The objective was to make a comprehensive study, as far as possible, on institutional support, especially Judicial System, to ensure access to justice to victim of an offence with reference to compensation to victim of an offence. Data analysed included 2500 & more judgements of Court of Sessions in Delhi from 2010-2014 in relation to (i) sexual offences, (ii) dowry death, & (iii) other offences.

About the Mock Trial and Advocacy Competition

Mock Trial Advocacy Competition is an Intra-College Competition for learners of law from First to Fifth Year Learners (which begins in October of a year and concludes in the September of the following year). It provides an opportunity to learn criminal trial process, to those who are interested in making their career in litigation. The Competition aims at enhancing the advocacy skills through series of workshops and stimulated exercises conducted by professionals throughout the competition. The First Edition of the Competition was launched in October, 2016 with its Finals so conducted in October, 2017.

Ms. Ananya Singh, Mr. Anurag Iyer, Ms. Ushashi Nan, Mr. Kumar Aditya Bhardwaj, Ms. Nishtha Chaturvedi, Second Year Learners; Mr. Dev Pratap Shahi, Ms. Garima Goyal, Mr. Nikhil Naren, Mr. Rishabh Dev, Mr. Pranav Bhaskar Tiwari, Mr. Rajat Srivastava, Ms. Shivangi Chandra, Third Year Learners; Ms. Arshya Gupta, Mr. Kartik Jigyasi, Mr. Lashit Sharma, Mr. Ikshvaaku Marwah, Fourth Year Learners; and Mr. Devyash Tripathi, Ms. Rashi Jain, Ms. Ridhima Saxena, & Mr. Yash Kotak, Fifth Year Learners, Symbiosis Law School, NOIDA were the successful participants after selection at the Competition for the First Edition of the Compeition from October 2016-September 2017.

About the Resource Person

Mr. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh graduated in the Law (LL.B.) from Allahabad University and completed Post Graduation in Law (LL.M.), (Delhi University), in the year 1992. He enrolled as an Advocate in the year 1993.

Mr. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh practised in Allahabad High Court till 1997, thereafter in Supreme Court from 1998 till the date of appointment mainly in Constitutional law, Administrative Law, Commercial Laws, Civil Laws, Taxation, Arbitration and Criminal Laws.

Mr. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh has been appointed as Judge, High Court of Allahabad on September 22, 2017.


Interested applicants can register by writing an email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it on or before March 09, 2018 by 09:00am.


Moot Court Hall,
Third Floor, Academic Block,
Symbiosis Law School, NOIDA


09:45am – 11:30pm

Contact Persons

Dr. Madhuker Sharma,
Assistant Professor & Deputy Director,
Symbiosis Law School, NOIDA

Dr. Meenakshi Kaul,
Assistant Professor &
Head – Academic Initiatives, Research and Publication Cell

Ms. Meera Mathews,
Assistant Professor &
Head-Administration, Research and Publication Cell 

Route Map